American Bonsai Society’s Board of Directors & Officers

Organizational Structure
American Bonsai Society’s organizational structure consists of a board of directors, president, officers, executive secretary and journal editor. We do not have headquarters or an office. The Board of Directors (up to 25 in number) oversees the strategic direction and goals for the organization. The President is responsible for implementing the board’s directions as well as overseeing the operations of officers and the executive secretary.

Our Officers are responsible for keeping the organization moving forward. Their duties include developing educational programs, guiding the efforts of the annual symposium coordinator, recruiting members, recording the organization’s business meetings, tracking and finding finances.

The Executive Secretary is responsible for the day to day tasks needed to keep the organization operating smoothly. This includes central registration processing and maintaining the list of members, responding to business inquiries, etc..

The ABS Journal Editor is responsible for layout, content, and timely publishing of the Bonsai: Journal of the American Bonsai Society, which is the most visible part of the ABS organization.

ABS Officers

President – Mark Fields of Greenwood, IN, NJ
Vice President – Karen Harkaway of Moorestown, NJ
Executive Secretary – Barbara Bogan of Lynnville, IN
Secretary – Pauline Muth of Fairport, NY
Treasurer – George Buehler of Prospect, KY
Past President – Karen Harkaway of Prospect, KY

ABS Board of Directors
Helene Magruder of Indianola, IA – 2019
Dave Paris of Fairport, NY – 2019
John Ruth of Westminister, MD – 2019
Todd Schlafer of Denver, CO – 2019
Ed Trout of Pembroke Pines, FL – 2019
Cheryl Sykora of Hudson, WI – 2019
Michael Ryan Bell of Jackson, MS – 2020
Stu Charlesworth of Littleton, MA – 2020
Andrew Robson of Milwaukie, OR – 2020
Michael Simmons of Lansing, MI – 2020
Doug Hawley of Cincinnati, OH – 2020
Michael Ryan Bell of Jackson, MS – 2020
David Hodgetts of Albany, NY – 2020
Andy Smith of Deadwood, SD – 2020
Paul Stokes of Madison, WI – 2020
Gary Andes of Kingsport, TN – 2021
Barbara Bogan of Lynnville, IN – 2021
Ross Clark of Richmond, KY – 2021
John Denton of Montgomery, TX – 2021
Joe Graviss of Versailles, KY – 2021
Karen Harkaway of Moorestown, NJ – 2021
Pauline Muth of West Charlton, NY – 2021
John Wiessinger of Ithica, NY – 2021

Journal – Robert King
Website / Bookstore – Paul Stokes
Advertising – John Denton
Newsletter – Ross Clark

ABS Executive Secretary
Barbara Bogan
PO Box 6
Lynnville, IN 47619, U.S.A
Telephone: (812) 922-5451